# GENERAL RULES AND REGULATIONS

- 1. The exhibitor agrees: (a) the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and its agencies and instrumentalities will not be responsible for any loss, damage, or injury sustained by or done to the person or property of the undersigned even if such loss, damage, or injury is the result of the negligence or gross negligence of the above-named parties; (b) exhibitor shall be responsible for and agrees to indemnify and hold harmless the above-named parties for any loss, damage, costs, expense, or injury caused by the exhibitor, their employees or agents, or animal(s) to the person or property of another; (c) Pennsylvania Farm Show Management, or its designee, may obtain specimens of urine, saliva, blood, or other substances from an exhibitor's animal(s) for testing for drugs, antibiotics, foreign substances, or compliance with exhibition terms, conditions, and rules; (d) exhibitor shall forfeit and return all awards, prize monies, and sale proceeds if such testing reveals any such substances or violation of show rules; (e) exhibitor has established a Veterinarian-Client Patient Relationship for the animal(s) entered and exhibited as defined in the Animal Exhibition Sanitation Law, 3 Pa. C.S.A. § 2501 et seq. and any amendments thereto; (f) exhibitor authorizes Farm Show Management, or its designee, to use, reproduce, and/or publish photographs and/or video including exhibitor's image, likeness, and/or voice without compensation in order to promote or publicize its activities; (g) the information on an exhibitor's entry form may be shared with the members of the Pennsylvania General Assembly representing an exhibitor's place of residence; (h) exhibitor intends to be legally bound by the above language by signing their name and by entering the animal(s) and/or participating in the show. By signing, exhibitor verifies that exhibitor has read, understands, consents to, and agrees to abide by terms and conditions stated herein in the Premium List and in all show rules. Exhibitor makes all statements contained in this entry form subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S.A. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities). If the animal owner is under 18 years of age, the signature of a parent/guardian is required in addition to the signature of the minor.
- 2. Pennsylvania State Farm Show Management will exercise every reasonable care in the protection of exhibits but will not be responsible for loss or damage from any cause including fire or theft. All exhibits will be under the direction of the Farm Show Director, but in no case will she or the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or its agencies and instrumentalities be responsible for any loss or damage that may occur. Each exhibitor will be solely responsible for any loss, injury, or damage done or occasioned by or arising from any exhibit entered by herhim and shall indemnify and hold harmless the Commonwealth against such loss, injury, or damage in regard thereto. Each exhibitor is required to sign a liability waiver/hold harmless statement as a condition of entry. For exhibitors 17 years of age or under, this statement will be signed by his parent or guardian.
- Excluding Junior Market Animals, entries will only be accepted online during the duration that they are open. No entries will be accepted prior to August 1, 2023.
- 4. All competitive exhibits must have been grown, made, or fashioned in Pennsylvania since the 2023 Farm Show unless otherwise stated under specific departmental rules. These exhibits must be the bona fide property of the exhibitor residing in Pennsylvania. The Commission reserves the right to reject any exhibit that is questionable as to variety or breed, or does not show excellence in its respective classification.
- 5. The Farm Show Commission reserves the right to withhold any premium for lack of merit of exhibits and authorizes judges to award a lower place premium if deemed best. The Commission further reserves the right in case of determined ineligibility of an exhibit, following the judgment but prior to the close of the show, to grade up other exhibits of the same class and pay premium on the revised placings. Show Management will not assume responsibility for the payment of premiums offered other than those provided by the Commission. All premiums are subject to change by the Farm Show Commission dependent upon funding support.
- **6.** Exhibitors are not permitted to bring items to the Farm Show Complex for sale purposes.
- 7. All exhibits will be under the direction of the Farm Show Management. The Show Management and/or Farm Show Commission reserves the right to interpret all rules and regulations governing the show, make such interpretations, decisions, and settle and determine all matters, or differences, in regard thereto, as may be necessary for the proper

- conduct of the show. All such interpretations and decisions will be final. Protest may be made to the Farm Show Manager by an exhibitor for any violation of the rules. All protests must be made by the protester, addressed to the Farm Show Manager, and be received within 24 hours of the alleged violation. A \$100.00 deposit must accompany any protest requiring an investigative procedure. Deposit will be returned in the event the protest is sustained.
- 8. The space for competitive exhibits is limited. The Farm Show Commission reserves the right to limit the number of entries in any department of the show to those that can be accommodated in the available space. Any exhibitor who removes or tampers with stalling signage or stall charts will be disqualified from participation in the Farm Show.
- The General Entry Blank should be used in all cases where no special blank is provided.
- 10. Exhibit must be shipped PREPAID to "Name of Exhibitor," care of Manager, Pennsylvania Farm Show, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex & Expo Center, 2300 N. Cameron St., Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9443. To be accepted and judged, there must be a list attached to the inside of each box detailing its contents and who will pick up the box on Saturday after 5:00 p.m. The exhibit areas will be closed at 5 p.m.
- 11. Shipments by truck will be unloaded as directed at the Farm Show Complex.
- 12. All exhibits remain the property of the exhibitor unless otherwise specified in the Department Rules. All livestock and live poultry will be released as noted in department rules. All other exhibits may be claimed by the exhibitor or her/his representative between 5:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. on January 13, 2024. (Department 24 see page 1 in the department rules). If to be claimed by the exhibitor or his representative, will call for must appear on the entry blank. If claimed by a representative of the exhibitor, the entry blank must be so marked or the exhibitor must provide the representative with a written statement of the fact for presentation to Show Management. Unless called for within the allotted time, the exhibits become the property of the show.
- 13. Any exhibitor violating the release time or other Farm Show rules or regulations without approval by the Show Manager will lose the privilege of showing at a future show or be subject to other appropriate action as deemed necessary by the Farm Show Commission.
- 14. In classes where plaques are given, a plaque winner, if he/she prefers, may purchase a banner through Farm Show Management.
- 15. No smoking or alcoholic beverages are permitted in the Farm Show Complex during the Farm Show or any other state-related event. Violators will be subject to dismissal from the show and forfeit all premiums.
- 16. Exhibitors must review and follow department-specific rules.
- 17. All entries not paid for by the close of department registration are considered incomplete and will be ineligible to show.
- 18. Show Management reserves the right to withhold premiums awarded in any case in which it appears the regulations have not been complied with or fraud or deception have been practiced/attempted.
- 19. Sound systems (loudspeakers, amplifiers, radios, broadcasting devices, music systems, or instruments) are a privilege regulated by the Farm Show. If sound is allowed, it must be of such nature as not to cause annoyance to other exhibits, concessionaires, or visitors. All wiring of any sound system shall comply with NEC #70, the National Electrical Code (2004 edition).

# LIVESTOCK AND DAIRY RULES

- Exhibitors shall conform to all requests of the management to lead out their animals for parade, exhibition, judging contest, or other purposes. Refusal will result in forfeiture of prizes won and such other penalty as the Farm Show Commission may impose.
- 2. Pens and stalls will be assigned on the basis of the number of entries by each exhibitor. Each exhibitor's area will be clearly marked and there will be a chart posted listing stalling assignments. All exhibitors will use the pens or stalls assigned to them. These facilities are to be used only to tie or enclose livestock. In the case of animals entered but not exhibited, management will reassign excess pens or stalls as deemed necessary. A penalty of \$100 per animal will be assessed to the owner of each horse, dairy, or beef animal entered and not exhibited (shown) at the Farm Show. Entries cancelled on or before November 2, 2023, will permit a refund of entry fees with no penalty. Entry cancellations

- received on or before December 22, 2023, will cause forfeiture of entry fees without penalty. In **extreme or unusual** circumstances, a veterinarian excuse or a written appeal of the assessment of the penalty will be considered if received by the *Farm Show Manager* on or before January 13, 2024. Failure to pay the assessed penalty will result in disqualification from future Farm Show competitions.
- 3. Livestock trucks to be on Farm Show property during show week shall be parked under the direction of the Farm Show Management in the area set aside for such trucks as soon as unloaded. All trailers must be parked at the off-site lot.
- **4.** Entries must be submitted online only at www.farmshow.pa.gov by the entry deadline of November 2, 2023. All online entries must be complete records in order for them to be approved.
- 5. Junior and Youth Division Class Eligibility: These classes are open to 4-H Club members and Vocational Agriculture students. Exhibitors must have been born in the years 2004-2014. Exhibitors must be members of a regularly organized 4-H Club or be Vocational Agriculture students carrying a project under the supervision of the Pennsylvania State University Agricultural and Cooperative Extension Service or a Vocational Agriculture Instructor and must be a member in good standing as defined by the state 4-H or FFA Office.
- 6. To be eligible for competition, whether singly or in groups, animals (horses, sheep, swine, goats, dairy cattle, and beef cattle) must be owned by the exhibitor except where otherwise specified and must have been owned by the exhibitor on or before November 2, 2023. Swine: See Rule 4 in Department 4. Dairy: See Rule 2 in Department 7. Beef: See Rule 3 in Department 5.
- Entry fees for open class exhibits. Fees must be paid at time entries are made.

Alpaca - \$8.00 per exhibitor Horse - \$20.00 per head Swine - \$10.00 per head Sheep - \$10.00 per head Dairy Cattle - \$20.00 per head Dairy/Boer Goats - \$10.00 per head Beef Cattle - \$20.00 per head

No entry fee is charged for Junior exhibits. Any Junior exhibit entered into an Open Show must pay Open Show fees.

- 8. Animals to compose a competitive group need not be designated at time entries are made but must be entered and shown in individual classes. Sires of "get-of-sire" and dams of "produce of dams" are to be named at time of making entry.
- 9. All animals entered in the breeding classes must be recorded or accepted for registry in the recognized books of their respective U.S. Breed Association. Exhibitors must have registration certificates available for inspection by management at all times until the judging of the breed is completed. Only original breed registration papers will be accepted when checking in entries. No photostats, facsimiles, or copies will be accepted.
- 10. Junior Beef Breeding and Junior Sheep Breeding Livestock Leases: An exhibitor who owns animals of a given species may not lease an animal of that species. Leased Junior Beef Breeding and Junior Sheep Breeding animals will be permitted to exhibit at Farm Show if the lease was submitted and approved at the county level prior to the county project deadline during the preceding calendar year. Signed leases must be submitted with registration papers at check-in. Leased animals must be housed in Pennsylvania and be leased from Pennsylvania producers.
- 11. Any exhibitor found to be showing an animal identified improperly will have the animal removed from the show and sale. All premiums and ribbons will be returned for all entries. That individual will not be permitted to show at the Pennsylvania Farm Show for one year in either the Open Show or Junior Show. The name of the exhibitor involved will be sent to all County Extension offices and The State Department of Vocational Agriculture.
- 12. Youth Replacement Showman: Youths are expected to show their own animals in all Junior Shows. In situations where other Farm Show shows conflict with this expectation, the specie superintendent may grant a special exception prior to the show.
- 13. In all cases the right is reserved to reject entirely or accept conditionally any entry or application for entry if stalls or pens are not available.
- 14. If a beef, dairy cattle, sheep, dairy goat, meat goat, or horse breed does not have at least three exhibitors with a total of 15 animals exhibited, that breed will be placed on probation the following year. If that breed does not meet the above requirements for two consecutive years, that breed will be dropped from the show. That breed will be required to show in the appropriate All Other Breed Division the following year.
- **15.** No nurse cows will be permitted on the premises.

- **16.** All exhibits must be in place as indicated in department rules.
- 17. No entry fees will be refunded except when an applicant withdraws her/ his entry before closing date for entries or when an application cannot be accepted on date of closing of entries because space is not available.
- 18. No animal will be awarded a prize unless removed from its stall and exhibited in the designated show ring at the scheduled time.
- 19. Substitution, within breed, of animals (horses, sheep, dairy cattle, meat goats, dairy goats, and beef cattle) entered for reasons satisfactory to the management will be permitted until the opening day of the show, provided the animal substitution was owned by the exhibitor at the time entries closed. All requests for substitutions of this kind and the reasons therefore, together with a description of the substitution animal, shall be filed in writing with the Show Manager. See Rule 6 Department 4 for Swine. See Rule 11 in Department 7 for Dairy Cattle.
- 20. No person other than those holding animals being exhibited will be allowed in the show ring during the time of judging, except the officials and officially accredited reporters. Exhibitors and breeders may obtain passes from the state breed association secretaries for the day their breed is judged.
- 21. Any movement of animals from one place to another within the Farm Show Complex must be done with two people controlling the movement, one person to lead or control the animal and the other to position herself/himself to provide cautionary warnings to the public.
- 22. Due to limited storage space and to prevent obstruction of aisles and tie areas, livestock and dairy exhibitors are not permitted to bring excessive amounts of feed, hay, or straw into the barns. A reasonable initial bedding will be supplied. Daily amounts of feed, hay, and straw may be purchased at the feed room. Exhibitors who furnish their own feed and forage may bring it into the barn between 10:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m each day. All supplies must be stored subject to the approval of management.
- 23. Exhibitors will be required to maintain their respective areas in a reasonably clean and orderly condition at all times. Management will assign custodial personnel to clean disorderly exhibit areas. A charge of \$25.00 per hour per man will be made for such service. Repeated violations will result in refusal to exhibit at future shows.
- 24. Blocking chutes are permitted for beef and dairy cattle only. A \$40 fee will be charged for each chute processed prior to November 2 for each blocking chute to be used during the Pennsylvania Farm Show. Each firm, farm, or family is limited to one chute for one to three animals, two chutes for four to six animals, etc. A fee of \$50 must be paid for the first chute above these limits and \$100 each for all others. A sticker will be furnished by Show Management to serve as proof of payment. Blocking chutes must have this sticker affixed to the right-rear upright at eye level and remain in designated areas or they will be removed from the grounds. A \$100 fee will be charged for all chutes processed after November 2, 2023.
- 25. Cattle Extra Space: Exhibitors may purchase up to two additional spaces if purchased prior to the entry deadline. The cost for an extra Dairy or Beef cattle space is \$20 per space.
- 26. The displaying of farm signs, banners, etc. over exhibits is encouraged. These displays must not interfere in any way with other exhibitors or with the conduct of the show. Neither shall they create a safety hazard to animals or spectators. No equipment or decorative material may be nailed, tacked, screwed, or bolted to any part of the Farm Show Complex or any of the fixtures therein. Exhibitors will be charged for damages to Farm Show property.
- 27. Power washers and other electrical equipment are prohibited in the washrooms and wash rack areas.
- 28. Sale Deductions: The Farm Show Scholarship Foundation will deduct as specified under "Sale Deductions" in Department 6-Junior Market Animals.
- **29. Animal Health Regulations:** The base date for computing health rules will be January 2024.
- 30. Beef Cattle Tie-Out Time: Cattle may be taken to the tie-out area at 6:00 p.m. but must be in their exhibit area by 8:00 a.m.
- 31. Safety: In the event that the Show Committee determines that the showing or displaying of an animal(s) is potentially harmful to any exhibitor, animal, or the public, Show Management reserves the right to prevent, dismiss, or excuse an exhibitor from showing or displaying his animal(s), and in extreme circumstances ask the exhibitor along with her/his animal(s) to vacate the premises. Entry fees will not be returned.
- 32. Guidelines for Care of Animals: It is the responsibility of each exhibitor to care for animals in a manner that is responsible and ethical. The following are some guidelines for the treatment of animals

# RESTRAINING ANIMALS

- Animals should be tied or penned in a manner that will not hurt the animal or restrict its breathing in any way.
- Animals should be tied so that all four feet are firmly on the ground and they have enough room to stand comfortably and lie down.
- Animals should be tied so that they are not able to injure animals tied near them.
- Animals unaccustomed to each other should not be penned together.
- Animals may NOT be muzzled at any time.

**Handling:** Any type of rough handling that could harm the animal is prohibited. The use of whips, canes, and show sticks should be restricted to showing only and then should be used only to guide the animals, not punish them. Remember, animals will respond quicker and better to quiet, gentle handling than loud, rough handling.

**Bedding:** All animals should have bedding that is dry and clean. Pens should be cleaned regularly to keep the animals clean and comfortable. If non-traditional bedding such as carpeting is used, it should be regularly cleaned (at least twice daily) to keep the pen free from manure. Straw, shavings, and corn cobs are permitted. Beef cattle will use shredded wood fiber supplied by Farm Show.

Feed and Water: Animals should be well fed and have access to clean water regularly. Realizing that many market animals must have restricted amounts of feed to maintain the proper weight, animals must be fed adequate amounts of feed to meet the animal's basic requirements. Animals not allowed reasonable access to feed and water will be disqualified from the show.

**Transportation:** Animals should be transported in a way that is both safe and considerate of the animal's well-being. In the winter, animals should be transported in enclosed trucks or trailers to protect them from the cold. **Blankets/Sweat Collars:** Any type of material such as blankets or sweat collars should be large enough to permit normal body functions such as breathing, eating, drinking, or lying down.

**Health:** It is the responsibility of the exhibitor to provide proper health care for their animals through routine inspection and consultation with health care professionals. The improper or illegal use of drugs or antibiotics is prohibited. If medication is indicated, be sure to follow the label directions and allow more than the stated withdrawal time.

**General:** No animal showing signs of contagious or infectious disease or external parasites will be allowed entry to the show. Exhibitors must have all necessary health papers with the herdsman in charge when entries arrive at the show. All show animals should be held in isolation for at least 30 days after return to the herd of origin.

**Grooming:** Use only grooming products that are approved for use on meat-producing animals when fitting any animal for show. Unapproved products may contain ingredients that result in unacceptable residues in the meat. If it is not certain that a product is residue safe and approved for use on meat animals, don't use it!

Market Animals: Animals consigned for slaughter during or immediately following the show shall not receive any treatment with drugs or biologics within the withdrawal time prior to slaughter. Withdrawal times for drugs and biologics are all stated on the directions for use. Label directions must be followed at all times. A Drug Certification and Disclosure Statement must be submitted at weigh-in.

\*\*Important\*\*! If upon slaughter, treatment with drugs, biologics, or any chemical from fitting products results in the condemnation of a carcass, the loss of the carcass and any other damages will be borne by the exhibitor. Market goats and market lambs will be tested for the presence of Ractopamine - HCL (Paylean).

# HEALTH RULES FOR BEEF CATTLE, MARKET CATTLE, AND DAIRY CATTLE

- Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: All cattle must be accompanied by a hard copy Certificate of Veterinary Inspection signed and dated by an accredited veterinarian with an inspection date within the 30 days prior to the date of arrival at the show.
- 2. Cattle Identification Requirements:
  - (a). All cattle for exhibition must be identified by an ISO-compliant, 15-digit 840 ear tag. An ISO-compliant, 15-digit 900 series ear tag that was placed prior to January 1, 2015, will be accepted as official identification.
  - **(b).** All market cattle must be identified by an 840 RFID ear tag registered with the Farm Show.
- Rabies Vaccination: A current rabies vaccination administered by a licensed veterinarian is required for animals 3 months of age and older (market cattle are exempt from this vaccination requirement). "Must be given within the last 12 months prior to entry." All vaccine label directions must be followed, and all rabies-vaccinated cattle must be accompanied by a rabies vaccination certificate or the vaccination information must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI). The vaccine product administered, serial number, date of vaccination, and Veterinarian who performed the vaccination should be correlated to the official ID of the animal and be listed with it on the CVI or Rabies vaccination certificate. If a rabies vaccination certificate is provided, in addition to the above information, the certificate must contain the name and contact information of the veterinarian who administered the vaccine and the veterinarian's signature. A copy of the rabies vaccination certificate is acceptable. Market cattle consigned for immediate slaughter are not required to have a rabies vaccination. Feeder or prospect cattle which will not be headed directly to slaughter following exhibition must abide by the above listed rabies vaccination requirements.
- 4. Vesicular Stomatitis (VS): ONLY APPLIES TO LIVESTOCK FROM STATES THAT HAD A VESICULAR STOMATITIS OUTBREAK IN PAST 12 MONTHS. An accredited veterinarian shall determine whether the animals are free from VS. All animals shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection with the following statement signed by the accredited veterinarian: "All animals identified on this Certificate of Veterinary Inspection have been examined and found to be free from VS. During the past 90 days, these animals were not located within 10 miles of a site where VS has been diagnosed."
- 5. Other Vaccination Recommendations: It is highly recommended that all cattle entering the show be immunized against IBR, PI3, BVD, and BRSV. It is strongly recommended that at least one vaccination against IBR, PI3, BVD, and BRSV be given within the 12 months prior to the date of arrival at the show.

# HEALTH RULES FOR EQUINE ANIMALS

- Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: All equine animals must be
  accompanied by a hard copy Certificate of Veterinary Inspection
  signed and dated by an accredited veterinarian with an inspection date
  within the 30 days prior to the date of arrival at the show. "Extended
  Equine Certificates of Veterinary Inspection and Interstate Equine
  Event Permits will not be accepted. Brand Certificates will not be
  accepted as Certificates of Veterinary Inspection."
- 2. Equine Infectious Anemia Test Requirements: All equine animals must be test negative for Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) by an official test within the 12 months prior to the opening date of the exhibition. Laboratory test results must accompany each animal to its final destination (a copy of the original lab report is acceptable). The CVI shall specify the date of sample collection and EIA test results. Foals less than 6 months of age accompanied by a test-negative dam are exempt from EIA testing requirements. If the foal is not accompanied by the dam, a copy of the dam's test results must accompany the foal to its final destination. The name of the laboratory conducting the EIA test, the date of the test and result, and accession number, must be listed on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. A photocopy of the test report must be submitted with the entry form.
- 3. Rabies Vaccination: A current rabies vaccination administered by a licensed veterinarian is required for animals 3 months of age and older. "Must be given within the last 12 months prior to entry." All vaccine label directions must be followed, and all rabies vaccinated

equine animals must be accompanied by a rabies vaccination certificate or the vaccination information must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI). The vaccine product administered, serial number, date of vaccination, and Veterinarian who performed the vaccination should be correlated to either the official ID of the animal(s) or its written physical description and be listed with it on the CVI or Rabies vaccination certificate. If a rabies vaccination certificate is provided, in addition to the above information, the certificate must contain the name and contact information of the veterinarian who administered the vaccine and the veterinarian's signature. A copy of the rabies vaccination certificate is acceptable.

- 4. Piroplasmosis Testing Requirements: If an equine animal has resided in any state where piroplasmosis has been diagnosed within the past year, for a total of 30 days or more within the six months prior to entry, that animal must be test-negative for Piroplasmosis within 30 days of entry (negative Babesia caballi and Theileria equi by c-ELISA test). The date of the negative test results must be written on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
- 5. Vesicular Stomatitis (VS): ONLY APPLIES TO LIVESTOCK FROM STATES THAT HAD A VESICULAR STOMATITIS OUTBREAK IN PAST 12 MONTHS. An accredited veterinarian shall determine whether the animals are free from VS. All animals shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection with the following statement signed by the accredited veterinarian: "All animals identified on this Certificate of Veterinary Inspection have been examined and found to be free from VS. During the past 90 days, these animals were not located within 10 miles of a site where VS has been diagnosed."
- 6. Other Vaccination Recommendations: The Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture recommends that exhibitors consult with their veterinarians about the proper vaccination regimen for their animals.

## **HEALTH RULES FOR GOATS**

- Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: All goats to be exhibited must be
  accompanied by a hard copy Certificate of Veterinary Inspection signed
  and dated by an accredited veterinarian with an inspection date within
  the 30 days prior to the date of arrival at the show.
- 2. Vesicular Stomatitis (VS): ONLY APPLIES TO LIVESTOCK FROM STATES THAT HAD A VESICULAR STOMATITIS OUTBREAK IN PAST 12 MONTHS. An accredited veterinarian shall determine whether the animals are free from VS. All animals shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection with the following statement signed by the accredited veterinarian: "All animals identified on this Certificate of Veterinary Inspection have been examined and found to be free from VS. During the past 90 days, these animals were not located within 10 miles of a site where VS has been diagnosed."
- 3. Goat Identification Requirements:
  - (a). All goats for exhibition must be identified by an official USDA scrapie eartag; a USDA-approved scrapie tattoo (in addition to individual ID); a USDA-approved custom scrapie eartag; an ISO-compliant, 15-digit 840 ear tag; or a breed registration tattoo if the tattoo is legible and the registration certificate accompanies the animal. The animal ID must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
  - (b). Market goats must be identified by an 840 RFID ear tag registered with the Farm Show AND one of the following: An official USDA scrapie eartag; a USDA-approved scrapie tattoo (in addition to individual ID); a USDA-approved custom scrapie eartag; or a breed registration tattoo if the tattoo is legible and the registration certificate accompanies the animal for official identification purposes at the Pennsylvania Farm Show.

# HEALTH RULES FOR SHEEP

- 1. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: All sheep must be accompanied by a hard copy Certificate of Veterinary Inspection signed and dated by an accredited veterinarian with an inspection date within the 30 days prior to the date of arrival at the show. All sheep must be indvidually identified on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
- 2. Vesicular Stomatitis (VS): ONLY APPLIES TO LIVESTOCK FROM STATES THAT HAD A VESICULAR STOMATITIS OUTBREAK IN PAST 12 MONTHS. An accredited veterinarian shall determine whether the animals are free from VS. All animals shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection with

the following statement signed by the accredited veterinarian: "All animals identified on this Certificate of Veterinary Inspection have been examined and found to be free from VS. During the past 90 days, these animals were not located within 10 miles of a site where VS has been diagnosed."

# 3. Sheep Identification Requirements:

- (a). All sheep for exhibition must be identified by one of the following: an official USDA scrapie ear tag; a USDA-approved scrapie tattoo in addition to individual ID; a USDA-approved custom scrapie ear tag; or an 840 ISO-compliant, 15-digit ear tag. The animal ID must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
- (b). Market sheep must be identified by an 840 RFID ear tag registered with Farm Show AND one of the following: an official USDA scrapie ear tag; a USDA-approved scrapie tattoo in addition to individual ID; a USDA-approved custom scrapie ear tag.
- 4. Rabies Vaccination: A current rabies vaccination administered by a licensed veterinarian is required for animals 3 months of age and older "Must be given within the last 12 months prior to entry." (market sheep are exempt from this vaccination requirement). All vaccine label directions must be followed, and all rabies-vaccinated sheep must be accompanied by a rabies vaccination certificate or the vaccination information must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI). The vaccine product administered, serial number, date of vaccination, and Veterinarian who performed the vaccination should be correlated to either the official ID of the animal(s) or its written physical description and be listed with it on the CVI or Rabies vaccination certificate. If a rabies vaccination certificate is provided, in addition to the above information, the certificate must contain the name and contact information of the veterinarian who administered the vaccine and the veterinarian's signature. A copy of the rabies vaccination certificate is acceptable.

#### HEALTH RULES FOR SWINE

- 1. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: All swine must be accompanied by a hard copy Certificate of Veterinary Inspection signed and dated by an accredited veterinarian with an inspection date within the 14 days prior to the date of arrival at the show.
- Vesicular Stomatitis (VS): ONLY APPLIES TO LIVESTOCK FROM STATES THAT HAD A VESICULAR STOMATITIS OUTBREAK IN PAST 12 MONTHS. An accredited veterinarian shall determine whether the animals are free from VS. All animals shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection with the following statement signed by the accredited veterinarian: "All animals identified on this Certificate of Veterinary Inspection have been examined and found to be free from VS. During the past 90 days, these animals were not located within 10 miles of a site where VS has been diagnosed."

#### 3. Swine Identification Requirements:

- (a). Breeding swine must be officially identified with an 840 RFID ISO-compliant, 15-digit tag. The show veterinarian is not required to issue a CVI for animals that do not have legible identification at the time of sale.
- **(b).** Market swine must be identified by an 840 RFID tag registered with the Farm Show for official identification purposes at the Pennsylvania Farm Show.
- 4. Brucellosis and Pseudorabies Testing Requirements for Breeding Swine:
  - (a). Brucellosis:
    - \*All breeding swine for **exhibition and sale** must have had a negative brucellosis test **within the 30 days prior to the date of sale (December 7, 2022, and after)**, or must originate from a Validated Brucellosis Free Swine Herd, and the herd number, test results, and date of the last herd test shall be listed on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.

# (b). Pseudorabies:

- \*All breeding swine for **exhibition and sale** must have had a negative pseudorabies test **within the 30 days prior to the date of sale**, or must originate from a Qualified Pseudorabies Negative Swine Herd, and the herd number, test results, and date of the last herd test shall be listed on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
- 5. Brucellosis and Pseudorabies Testing Requirements for Market Swine:
  - (a). Brucellosis: No brucellosis test is required for market swine sold

# HEALTH RULES FOR ALPACAS

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: All Alpacas must be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection signed and dated by an accredited veterinarian with an inspection date within the 30 days prior to the date of arrival at the show.

# 1. Alpaca Identification Requirements:

(a). All Alpacas for exhibition must be identified by one of the following: an 840 ISO-compliant, 15-digit ear tag; an electronic implant device (the exhibitor must supply a reader); or a USDA-issued metal ear tag. The animal ID must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.

# 2023 PA FARM SHOW RODEO LIVESTOCK AND EQUINE REQUIREMENTS

#### Rodeo Cattle/Bovine

- Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): All rodeo Cattle Must be accompanied by a hard copy Certificate of Veterinary Inspection(CVI) signed and dated by an Accredited Veterinarian with an inspection date Rodeo Horses/Equine within the 30 days prior to the date of arrival at the show.
- Free of evidence of disease: All rodeo cattle must be free of evidence of infectious and contagious disease and a statement of this is required on the CVI.
- Rodeo Cattle Identification Requirements: All cattle for exhibition must be identified by an ISO-compliant, 15-digit 840 ear tag. An ISOcompliant, 15-digit 900 series ear tag that was placed prior to January 1, 2015, will be accepted as official identification. Rodeo Cattle may be identified with one of the above ISO compliant tags and, in addition, a metal USDA National Uniform Ear Tagging system(NUES) tag. However, all forms of Identification should be listed on the CVI. Animals that are solely identified by brands and breed registrations with tattoos will not be accepted.
- Vesicular Stomatitis (VS): This applies only to livestock entering Pennsylvania from states that experienced a Vesicular Stomatitis outbreak in the last 12 months. In these cases, an accredited veterinarian shall determine whether the animals are free from VS, and animals shall be accompanied by a CVI with the following statement signed by the accredited veterinarian: "All animals identified on this CVI have been examined and found to be free from VS. During the past 90 days, these animals have neither been exposed to VS nor were located within 10 miles of a site where VS has been diagnosed."
- **Tuberculosis Testing Requirements for Out of State Cattle:** 
  - No test is required for animals originating from states or zones designated as accreditedfree by the USDA.
  - All animals originating from states or zones designated modified accredited advanced by the USDA must be test negative within the 60 days prior to the date of importation. The negative test results and dates of tests must be included on the CVI or the animal must be accompanied by a negative test report(a copy of the original report is acceptable).
  - All animals originating from states or zones designated modified accredited by the USDA must originate from herds in which all animals 12 months of age and older are test negative within the 12 months prior to the date of importation and the individual animals (all ages) to be imported are also test negative within the 60 days prior to the date of importation and at least 60 days after the negative whole herd test was completed. The negative test results and date of test must be included on the CVI or the animal must be accompanied by a negative test report (a copy of the original report is acceptable)
  - -Special Tuberculosis Test requirement for Rodeo Cattle -- All rodeo cattle and bison from out of state must be negative on an official tuberculosis test within 60 days prior to entering Pennsylvania unless they originate from and are members of an Accredited Tuberculosisfree herd that is also within an accredited Tuberculosis-free state or zone. This requirement for rodeo cattle from out of state is in addition to all other requirements listed above for out of state cattle.
- Rabies Vaccination: A current rabies vaccination administered by a licensed veterinarian is required for cattle 3 months of age and older. "Must be given within the last 12 months prior to entry." (market cattle are exempt from this vaccination requirement). All vaccine

- label directions must be followed, and all rabies-vaccinated cattle must be accompanied by a rabies vaccination certificate or the vaccination information must be included on the Certificate of **Veterinary Inspection(CVI).** The vaccine product administered, serial number, date of vaccination, and Veterinarian who performed the vaccination should be correlated to the official ID of the animal and be listed with it on the CVI or Rabies vaccination certificate. If a rabies vaccination certificate is provided, in addition to the above information, the certificate must contain the name and contact information of the veterinarian who administered the vaccine, and the veterinarian's signature. A copy of the rabies vaccination certificate is acceptable.
- Other Vaccination Recommendations: It is highly recommended that all cattle entering the show be immunized against IBR, PI3, BVD, and BRSV. It is strongly recommended that at least one vaccination against IBR, PI3, BVD, and BRSV be given within the 12 months prior to the date of arrival at the show.

- Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: All equine animals must be accompanied by a hard copy Certificate of Veterinary Inspection signed and dated by an accredited veterinarian with an inspection date within the 30 days prior to the date of arrival at the show. **Extended Equine Certificates of Veterinary Inspection and** Interstate Equine Event Permits will not be accepted. Brand Certificates will not be accepted as Certificates of Veterinary Inspection.
- Equine Infectious Anemia Test Requirements: All equine animals must be test negative for Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) by an official test within the 12 months prior to the opening date of the exhibition. Laboratory test results must accompany each animal to its final destination (a copy of the original lab report is acceptable). The CVI shall specify the date of sample collection and EIA test results. Foals less than 6 months of age accompanied by a test-negative dam are exempt from EIA testing requirements. If the foal is not accompanied by the dam, a copy of the dam's test results must accompany the foal to its final destination. The name of the laboratory conducting the EIA test, the date of the test and result, and accession number, must be listed on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. A photocopy of the test report must be submitted with the entry form.
- Rabies Vaccination: A current rabies vaccination administered by a licensed veterinarian is required for animals 3 months of age and older. "Must be given within the last 12 months prior to entry." All vaccine label directions must be followed, and all rabies vaccinated equine animals must be accompanied by a rabies vaccination certificate or the vaccination information must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. The vaccine product administered, serial number, date of vaccination, and Veterinarian who performed the vaccination should be correlated to either the official ID of the animal(s) or its written physical description and be listed with it on the CVI or Rabies vaccination certificate. If a rabies vaccination certificate is provided, in addition to the above information, the certificate must contain the name and contact information of the veterinarian who administered the vaccine and the veterinarian's signature. A copy of the rabies vaccination certificate is acceptable.
- Piroplasmosis Testing Requirements: If an equine animal has resided in any state where piroplasmosis has been diagnosed within the past year, for a total of 30 days or more within the six months prior to entry, that animal must be test-negative for Piroplasmosis within 30 days of entry (negative Babesia caballi and Theileria equi by c-ELISA test). The date of the negative test results must be written on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
- Vesicular Stomatitis(VS): This applies only to livestock, horses and other equines that originate from States that had a vesicular stomatitis outbreak in the last 12 months. An accredited veterinarian shall determine whether the animals are free from VS. All animals shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection with the following statement signed by the accredited veterinarian: "All animals identified on this Certificate of Veterinary Inspection have been examined and found to be free from VS. During the past 90 days, these animals were not located within 10 miles of a site where VS has been diagnosed."

Other Vaccination Recommendations: The Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture recommends that exhibitors consult with their veterinarians about the proper vaccination regimen for their animals.

# Rodeo Goats/Caprine

- Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: All rodeo goats must be accompanied by a hard copy Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) signed and dated by an accredited Veterinarian with an inspection date within the 30 days prior to the date of arrival at the show.
- Goat Identification Requirements: Other Vaccination Recommendations: All goats for exhibition must be identified by an official USDA scrapie ear tag; a USDA-approved scrapie Tattoo (in addition to individual ID); a USDA approved custom scrapie ear tag; an ISO compliant, 15 digit 840 ear tag; or a breed registration tattoo if the tattoo is legible and the registration certificate accompanies the animal. The animal ID must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. with the following statements written on the CVI by The Veterinarian.
- that had a vesicular stomatitis outbreak in the past 12 months. An accredited veterinarian shall determine whether the animals are free from VS. All animals shall be accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection with the following statement signed by the accredited veterinarian: "All animals identified on this certificate of veterinary inspection have been examined and found to be free from VS. During the past 90 days, these animals were not located within 10 miles of a site where VS has been diagnosed."

#### 2023 HEALTH RULES FOR RABBITS:

Rabbits which originate from Pennsylvania or from a state where Rabbit Hemorrhagic Disease Virus(RHDV) is not considered endemic or has not been diagnosed in the last 12 months are not required to have a Certificate of Veterinary inspection(CVI)/health certificate for exhibition. However, the exhibitor must sign an attestation statement indicating at least one selection from the list to be eligible for exhibition.

Rabbits that originate from outside of Pennsylvania from a state in which RHDV is endemic or in which

a case has been diagnosed within 12 months (current list of states AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, KS,

KY, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NM, NY, NV, OR, SD, TN, TX, UT, WA, WI, and WY) must be individually identified on

- a CVI/health certificate written within 72 hours of entry to farm show.
- Vesicular Stomatitis(VS): This applies only to livestock from states \*All rabbits in the shipment have been examined for and found free of infectious, contagious or communicable diseases;
  - •All rabbits have originated from a single premises that has no signs of infectious, contagious or communicable disease in rabbits;
  - •There have been no movements of rabbits onto the premises of origin within the 90 days prior to the date of shipment; and
  - •The rabbits have had no contact with wild or captive rabbits other than their cohorts in the 90 days prior to the date of shipment.

A conditionally licensed vaccine is available through licensed Veterinarians in PA. Exhibitors are encouraged to vaccinate their rabbits following the recommendations of their veterinarian well prior to exhibition. Vaccination of rabbits does not exempt them from the above requirements or exempt exhibitors from being required to sign the attestation statement with at least one attestation indicated in order to exhibit.

Please read the attestation statements carefully below and plan accordingly, well prior to the farm show. This is very important if you are exhibiting at multiple shows or out of state shows and also intend to attend the Farm Show with Rabbit entries. All rabbit exhibitors must be able to attest, at minimum, to one of the statements below on the attestation statement to be eligible to exhibit at the PA State Farm Show.

## At least one statement must be checked to allow exhibition.

- I hereby attest that my Rabbits do not originate outside of Pennsylvania from a state or territory listed above or where RHD-2 is known to exist within the last 12 months and therefore are not required to meet the Commonwealth import requirements listed above.
- I hereby attest my rabbits are healthy and have not in the past 90 days been in (or have not been comingled with rabbits from) any states including (AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, KS, KY, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NM, NY, NV, OR, SD, TN, TX, UT, WA, WI, and WY) where RHD-2 is known to exist:
- o I hereby attest that my Rabbits are healthy and have not in the past 90 days been in (or have been comingled with rabbits from) any states including (AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, KS, KY, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NM, NY, NV, OR, SD, TN, TX, UT, WA, WI, and WY) where RHD -2 is known to exist. However, I acknowledge that I exhibited rabbits in one of the above listed states, these rabbits are not in this shipment and upon return from exhibition those rabbits were kept isolated and apart without contact from the rabbits in this shipment for at least the past 90 days. I have not brought to this event, any equipment, feed, show supplies, or products that were used when exhibiting other rabbits in any one of the above listed states.

#### RABBIT EXHIBITORS PLEASE PRINT, SIGN AND HAND IN AT TIME OF EXHIBITION.

Farm Show Exhibitor Rabbit Hemorrhagic Disease Attestation: Rabbit Hemorrhagic Disease

Rabbit Hemorrhagic Disease (RHD) is a fatal disease of domestic and wild rabbits of the family Leporidae, which includes hares, jackrabbits and cottontails. RHD is caused by a calicivirus and there are several strains of RHD virus which cause disease.

Isolated cases of RHD have appeared intermittently in the United States since 2000. In 2020, outbreaks of RHD have been reported in domestic rabbits, cottontail rabbits, and hares in the United States. Rabbit Hemorrhagic Disease Virus Serotype 2 (RHDV-2) has been reported in numerous states including AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, KS, KY, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NM, NY, NV, OR, SD, TN, TX, UT, WA, WI, and WY.

In Pennsylvania we have a quarantine order in place to prevent the introduction of RHD into our Commonwealth from rabbits that originate from one of the states listed above or other states in which the disease may have also been diagnosed in the last 12 months. The language in the quarantine states the following:

No rabbits or their products, such as, meat, pelts, hides, carcasses or other items, and no equipment, exposed feed or conveyances or other items or associated materials may enter the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania from a Commonwealth, State, Territory, or Country where RHD has been diagnosed in the prior twelve (12) months or there is a reasonable suspicion it exists unless they meet the following requirements:

- (a) All live rabbits must be accompanied by an Interstate Certificate of Veterinary inspection (ICVI) and must be examined by an accredited veterinarian within the seventy-two (72) hours prior to the date of shipment to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The ICVI must include statements by an accredited veterinarian certifying that:
  - (i) All rabbits in the shipment have been examined for and found free of infectious, contagious or communicable diseases;
  - (ii) All rabbits have originated from a single premises that has no signs of infectious, contagious or communicable disease in rabbits;
  - (iii) There have been no movements of rabbits onto the premises of origin within the 90 days prior to the date of shipment; and
  - (iv) The rabbits have had no contact with wild or captive rabbits other than their cohorts in the 90 days prior to the date of shipment.
- (b) No rabbits or their products, such as, meat, pelts, hides, carcasses or other items, and no equipment, exposed feed or conveyances or other items or associated materials may enter the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania from a premises exposed to, contaminated with or known to be affected with RHD, or where there is a reasonable suspicion the disease exists or the rabbits have been exposed to or infected with RHD.

In Pennsylvania Vaccination of rabbits for RHDV2 is conditionally allowed by licensed Veterinarians. Exhibitors are encouraged to vaccinate rabbits especially show rabbits that are high risk and follow best management procedures (BMPs) before during and after shows in regard to sanitation, cleaning and disinfection and post exhibition isolation. Exhibitors should not share or swap any equipment, cages or feed. Vaccination against RHDV2 does not exempt rabbits from meeting all import requirements in the above indented section.

USDA Guidance regarding RHDV and BMPs can be found at: www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/animalhealth/sa-epidemiology-animalhealth-ceah/ri

Please check all the statements that apply:

At least one statement must be checked to allow exhibition.

- o I hereby attest that my Rabbits do not originate outside of Pennsylvania from a state or territory listed above or where RHD-2 is known to exist within the last 12 months and therefore are not required to meet the Commonwealth import requirements listed above.
- o I hereby attest my rabbits are healthy and have not in the past 90 days been in (or have not been comingled with rabbits from) any states including (AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, KS, KY, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NM, NY, NV, OR, SD, TN, TX, UT, WA, WI, and WY) where RHD-2 is known to exist:

| o I hereby attest that my Rabbits are healthy and have not in the past 90 days been in (or have been comingled with rabbits from) any states including      |
|---|
| (AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, KS, KY, MN, MS, MT, NJ, NM, NY, NV, OR, SD, TN, TX, UT, WA, WI, and WY) where RHD -2 is known                          |
| to exist. However, I acknowledge that I exhibited rabbits in one of the above listed states, these rabbits are not in this shipment and upon return from    |
| exhibition those rabbits were kept isolated and apart without contact from the rabbits in this shipment for at least the past 90 days. I have not brought t |
| this event, any equipment, feed, show supplies, or products that were used when exhibiting other rabbits in any one of the above listed states.             |

| Parent, Guardian or Exhibitor name printed | Date |
|--|------|
| Parent, Guardian or Exhibitor signature    | Date |